TitaniumGeek




Cycling Gear Reviews Smart Trainers Zwift

Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview

At Eurobike 2018, the Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike has been revealed. Looking more like modern art than any gym equipment, Elite have taken things to the next level, and then some! Let’s take a preview at this sculpture come gym equipment 

TitaniumGeek Screen-Shot-2018-07-07-at-23.36.18-300x235 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite

Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview

The Italians are famed the world over for their style, but also their engineering. If you’ve any doubt, just look at Ferrari and Lamborghini

Elite has had the Fuoripista hidden in plain sight on their stand at the start of Eurobike – with a large wooden crate standing incongruously against the companies sea of signature black and red which makes up their booth. Heck the company even tease on their Instagram Account, that the box wasn’t just leftover construction kit TitaniumGeek IMG_0040-2 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   Now we all know – The Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike – well “Interactive Stationary Bike” is how Elite are describing what was hiding inside.

TitaniumGeek image2 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   Although call it what you will, we know a smart bike when we see one! But in that same breath, there is also something very… old fashioned almost stream punk about the design of the unitTitaniumGeek Screen-Shot-2018-07-07-at-23.46.47 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   One of the first things which went through my mind seeing the Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike was “Mechanical Horse” – OK that isnt entirely correct. My first thought was “Wow I want this! Even if I NEVER ride it, but just sit opposite and look at it, I NEED this in my life”

As a reaction that probaly isnt too surprising when you look at the story of the Elite Fuoripista and the designer behind the asthetic Adriano DesignTitaniumGeek Screen-Shot-2018-07-07-at-23.54.05 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   The Italian design studio located in Torino already has a slew of award to its name – and I do wonder now that the Fuoripista is a full product, whether they will be adding to their trophy cabinet once more?

TitaniumGeek Screen-Shot-2018-07-07-at-23.55.31 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   The thing is the Elite Fuoripista is NOT the companies first penning of an indoor trainer. In fact, the Fuoripista was first revealed by Adriano Design back in 2017 during Milan’s Design Week with Fuoripista translating as ‘off piste” or “beyond track” depending on how you look at the etymology

Given that the design study has been around for a while, I went digging. Unsurprisingly the older Fuoripista web page is undergoing an update until Sunday, July 8th – I wonder why? 😉 but the original images are not difficult to find:

TitaniumGeek fuoripista003 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   In fact the appearance has stayed remarkably similar to the designers original vision even after Elite came along to transform the design study (on the RIGHT) into a functional product (on the LEFT)TitaniumGeek Screen-Shot-2018-07-08-at-00.12.12 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   Now I dont have this confirmed yet, but I have the feeling if you were to pull off the shiny disc covers to reveal the workings inside the Elite Fuoripista, I’d think you would find that the core of the original engineering is related to the Elite Direto.

TitaniumGeek Screen-Shot-2018-07-08-at-00.07.18 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   Very remotely related… but I can see how it might be possible to refine an Elite Direto to become to the core of the new Elite Fuoripista.

TitaniumGeek Elite-Visit-1-of-1-11 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   Plus it is interesting that the new smart bike has the same power meter accuracy of +/-2.5% as the Direto, rather than say the 0.5% of the newly unveiled Drivo II. Suggesting the Drivo and the Fuoripista may share a similar OTS drive unit

TitaniumGeek IMG_8185 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   We know that the Elite Fuoripista has been designed to be fully adjustable, and by the looks of the pictures, you are going to be able to move the leather-wrapped bull horns through a wide range of positions. Both for comfort, but also to better support your training for different disciplines. Yet again, a very clear decision has been taken to meld the form and function together –  heck just look at the metal lining  for tracks along which the bars can be moved!TitaniumGeek Screen-Shot-2018-07-08-at-00.59.37 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   With that in mind, what are the specs which Elite have crammed into this stunning package? Or note – one thing you’re not seeing is a power cable, as the Elite Furoripista is able to run on battery power (although for how long, I’m not yet sure) but obviously as you don’t want anything as nasty as cables detracting for these elegant lines!

Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike – Specifications

  • Communication: Bluetooth, ANT+, ANT+ FE-C, BlueTooth Smart Trainer Protocol
  • Built-in sensors: Power, Speed/Cadence
  • Power Accuracy: 2.5%
  • Misc: Lithium rechargeable battery for power supply
  • Virtual shifter

What currently hasn’t been released is information on the slope simulation, max a wattage, or noise level. But I’ll update that as soon as I have

Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike – Conclusion

TitaniumGeek Screen-Shot-2018-07-08-at-00.59.06 Elite Fuoripista Smart Bike Preview Zwift Turbo Trainer smart bike elite   So there we go, the Elite Fuoripista. Probably the most elegant sports equipment yet to enter mass production. There are still many questions, not least of which will be price, but for those who can afford it, one question might be where to put the beast?

On one hand, this is a cycling training product, a smart bike, designed to be used, sweated upon, and to have gels and water bottles splashed on it… yet at the same time, an owner would also want to display it, as the Elite Fuoripista easily doubles as sculpture.

0
0
James Gill

Author of TitaniumGeek, which started after smashing off my RIGHT elbow. Feel free to drop me a line about sports tech, medicine, or frankly anything that you want to chat about!!