TitaniumGeek




Gear Reviews

Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review – TitaniumGeek

Bluetooth headphones come in a range of shapes and sizes. Aftershokz Bluez 2 bluetooth headphones use bone conduction technology to let you hear your music AND the outside world. The marketing machine is good, but is this unique way of listening to your tunes actually any good?

Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review – TitaniumGeek

Over the years I have used several pairs of bluetooth headphones, and so far none have really fit the bill. I have always found there to be a horrible balance between battery life and size. Even more so with durability. Here I’ll discuss a bit about the bone conduction headphones, how they work, and then review the AfterShokz bluez 2 bluetooth headphones properly

My Previous Bluetooth experiences

For a while I used a JayBird Sportsband. This was my first purchase of bluetooth headphones after trying MANY different versions. I personally found my biggest problem, when running, is that in-ear headphones simply come out. Or you get sweaty ears, which means lots of annoying popping and crackling.

TitaniumGeek 31xot2CRbWL._SX300_-300x296 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

JayBird Sport Band. Large and doesn’t like sweat

The JayBird Sport band wasn’t too heavy. But rather uncomfortable on the ears. I think it was designed for someone with the head of an egg. Perfectly smooth and symmetrical. It would just about cope with your ears. But the foam pads would become unpleasantly saturated on anything over 30min runs. The headset was supposed to come with a handsfree feature. You could make calls from it, and also receive them from the buttons on the sides, but all the recipient could usually hear, in my experience, was you fighting through a hurricane. I finally gave up when sweat corroded one of the ear speakers, and didnt really have any great desire to replace them.

So that was 2012.

First encounter with AfterShokz

I basically made do with a series of regular headphone when running until September 2013 when at the Birmingham Indoor Cycle show I came across AfterShokz.

TitaniumGeek Screen-Shot-2015-03-22-at-13.59.21 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

AfterShokz

I’ll be perfectly honest, I saw them, and walked by initially – we use bone conduction examinations when assessing the functioning of a persons hearing. To determine if a problem with a persons hearing is due to the part of the nervous system that controls the hearing, sensorineural hearing loss, or whether the ear is essentially blocked by something, conductive hearing loss and the sound can’t reach the ears. I didn’t really think it sounded great.

I continued walking around the show, and found myself back in the gadget area. Walking by the stand again, I thought I’d give it a go. If nothing else it might give me an interesting anecdote when explaining things to the students.

AfterShokz Bluez

The headphones they were displaying at the time, were a wired version, and a bluetooth version. I tried the Bluetooth version – The AfterShokz Bluez.

TitaniumGeek AfterShokz-Bluez-open-ear-headphones Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Svelt design to open ear headphones

Its not often that I’ve tried something, and gone “Wow, I need this in my life! – NOW”

The thing about bone conduction headphones is they are not supposed to be the last word in audio fidelity. You could even argue respectably that part of their selling point is actually safety.

TitaniumGeek AfterShokz-Bluez-control-panel-720x480 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Conductive ear pads

How AfterShokz Technology works.

There is a little flat rubbery pad on the sides of the headphones ear ear pod, where the bud/ear piece would normally be actually touch your skull  at the temporal bone, just in front of your ears. This pad vibrates, transmitting the sound THROUGH YOUR SKULL, bypassing your ears and ear drum, into the sound sensing organ of the cochlear. This is the part of your hearing apparatus that turns the sounds vibrations into nerve signals your brain perceives as sound. In the case of AfterShokz, the vibration is coming through the temporal bone of your skull, rather than through the ear drum.

I’m not really one of hyperbole. But when you pause and think about that. Thats really quite wild.

OK, but there are lots of things in like that are cool, but that doesn’t necessarily make them useful. The VW XL1 is an amazing car, with amazing technology, but its not useful – YET.

Bone conduction technology was first used with the military. Here the comms kit sits in from of the ear, using the bone conduction to transmit conversations, without obscuring the ears.

This is where AfterShokz is brilliant.

Standing in the middle of the cycle show, I was able to listen to the music played over bluetooth, but also perfectly clearly hear the salesman, as my ears weren’t covered by the headphones. The best way I can describe it, apart from the fact the sound is inside your head, is its just like having music on in a room. You can still listen to the music, but you know if someone starts to have a chat with you.

Living with AfterShokz

I purchased the headphones on the spot. Subsequently I have found them exceptional for both running and biking. You get to hear cars going around you, or more importantly coming up from behind. Now some people will say – headphones/music on a road bike – your are nuts. However its not only music you have coming through your ears. Before I purchased a Garmin head unit. I’d ride with my phone in a jersey pocket, and using the CycleMeter App I’d get regular verbal feedback on my pace, average speed and distance. The rest of the time, I’d have silence through the ear pods, simply to hear the cars. With Aftershokz I was able to have the same audio feedback, but NO impairment to my ability to hear cars when cycling. Personally I’d call that a success.

Aftershokz bluez 2 bluetooth headphones review!

SO after the science bit, the actual review. My original Aftershokz developed a battery issue within their 2 year warranty, and Aftershokz kindly replaced them, but rather than with the same 2013 model. I received the AfterShokz Bluez 2 bluetooth headphones – 2014 model. So I thought it might be worth while putting up a review, and looking of the differences and improvements. However, as I had to send my originals back to them for the warranty claim, I can’t do any side by side comparisons. Which is a shame, as they are rather different…

TitaniumGeek guru-1-of-1-768x1024 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Slick aftershokz bluez 2 bluetooth headphones box

 

The Aftershokz bluez 2 bluetooth headphones come in a very sturdy, magnetically clasped, cardboard box. Detailed the changes and improvements.

TitaniumGeek guru-1-of-2-768x1024 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Features 1

TitaniumGeek guru-2-of-2-768x1024 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Features 2

Features

Just briefly covering those features for a moment.

  • Dual cancelling microphones
    • Located on the sides of the ear pods. Very effective and allow for conversations whilst running. However I’ve personally found them completely ineffective for cycling other to say that “I can’t talk”
    • The heads free feature is activated from a single silver button on the outside of the LEFT ear pod
TitaniumGeek IMG_1423-1024x768 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Dual Microphone grill

TitaniumGeek guru-1-of-1-8-1024x768 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Hands free button

  • Audrey Says (™)
    • I don’t know where they got the Audrey name from, but this is a system to allow the headphones to communicate with the user. Rather than a battery status light, the headphone tell you how much charge they have when you switch them on e.g. “Battery medium” in a female voice. They will also tell you when you switch them off what the battery status is, so you don’t leave them uncharged for the next session. If you do however, you run the risk of Audrey becoming annoying. Recently when out on a run, I’d clearly forgotten to charge them, I don’t know what the battery level was, but for the last 15min mins of the run, Audrey insisted telling me VERY frequently “Charge me”. I say very frequently, it was about every 2-3 mins. Its just rather annoying when you are on a run and can do nothing about it. It got to the stage that I think I’d actually prefer it if she’s just run out of battery!
  • Two Year warranty
    • Does exactly what it says on the tin, and from my own experience AfterShokz have a VERY good warranty service
  • Premium Pitch
    • Basically meaning that AfterShokz have tweaked the sound quality. I’ve personally not really noticed the difference. But then I’m not an audiophile, and I have purchased these for use in sports, not listing to music. In either respect, personally I have found the sound quality excellent anyway
  • LeakSlayer
    • Now this has been very effective. The original AfterShokz had flat rubber pieced on the sound pods. Frankly, if the volume is increased enough, there is a question whether they are actually conducting ANYTHING, and its just the sound coming through your ear by the normal route anyway. Not that this matters, but everyone can certainly hear what you are listening to.
    • The new nubs direct the vibrations more effectively towards your head, and isolate the people around you from your chosen workout songs/information updates. Of all the changes between version 1 & this version of aftershokz bluez 2 bluetooth headphones, this has been without a double the biggest success.
TitaniumGeek guru-1-of-1-6-1024x768 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Sound focused through raised rubber nub

  •  Equaliser
    • Again, I have not real use for this, but couldn’t actually find a way to control it anyway!

Aftershokz bluez 2 bluetooth headphones – Fit

The ONE major disappointment of the new aftershokz bluez 2 bluetooth headphones is the style. The original Bluez was sleek, and part of that meant is curved round your ears, and sat nicely on your neck. The Aftershokz bluez 2 bluetooth headphonesnow rest on your ears, and sort of float over your neck.

TitaniumGeek guru-1-of-1-9-768x1024 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Hanging off ears,

A big issue with this, is there is limited adjustability. ie. none. The pods sit just in front of my ear, resting more on my tragus, than my skull. Thankfully this doesn’t impact on the transmission of sound though

TitaniumGeek guru-1-of-1-10-768x1024 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Floating over neck

 

The Bluez 2 more more robust, has thicker plastic, and a stronger design. Your are less likely to damage this with it sitting on a table. I think the best way of looking at it was the original looked like a newer model, than the latest one.

Style Comparisons

TitaniumGeek AfterShokz-Bluez-headband-300x170 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Original Bluez -Sleek – but fragile

 

 

TitaniumGeek AfterShokz-Bluez-open-ear-headphones-2-300x136 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Original Bluez – Elegant

TitaniumGeek guru-1-of-1-3-300x225 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Blue 2 – Robust industrial design

The change in design has however given a longer battery life and a greater balance. In the original, the battery was in the thick portion of the back – also where the controls were located. Now one side contains the electronics and the other the battery. So the weight is over your ears, not on your neck.

TitaniumGeek IMG_1415-1024x768 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Control buttons

On the original Bluez, the control buttons allows you to skip tracks with long presses. This is now not possible, and you are left with just the two buttons. Volume and power, and between is the well sealed micro USB charging port

TitaniumGeek IMG_1409-1024x768 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Instructions for pairing

Another benefit of moving the electronics, battery and buttons to the sides, rather than the back of the band, is the electronics should hopefully by less susceptible to sweat – and so far so good!

The removal of the battery, and the weight from the back of the band, has also lead to the positioning of a sweat band at the back to keep the headphones stable. Nice touch certainly

TitaniumGeek IMG_1422-1024x768 Aftershokz Bluez 2 Bluetooth Headphones Review - TitaniumGeek training running headphones headphone Gear cycling bone conduction bluetooth

Sweat Band

Conclusion

With the changes in style not withstanding. The upgrade from the original AfterShokz Bluez, to Bluez 2 has been considerable. I find these to be not only the best bluetooth headphones I’ve ever used, but also the best SPORTS headphones I’ve ever used. Even if there was a wire required, I don’t have problems with the ear pods coming out of my ears, or the electronics getting sweaty. The fit may not be perfect, but the function certainly is. Whilst I say the fit may not be perfect, it’s certainly not something that stops me using or enjoying these great bits of kit

If you’ve any comments or takes on the review, drop them below!

0
0
James Gill

<p>Author of TitaniumGeek, which started after smashing off my RIGHT elbow. Feel free to drop me a line about sports tech, medicine, or frankly anything that you want to chat about!!</p><br />

  • Mr Bean

    I bought a set of these after seeing a review to use with TeamSpeak, as yet I have not been able to use them on Zwift with TeamSpeak. I can hear other but they cannot hear me (mic not working?) turn them off and works fine though iphone alone.

    • Not sure, sorry.
      I’ve used these almost exclusively has headphones. I had one go with TeamSpeak, but wasn’t awfully successful

  • Dave Owen

    Hi James,

    I adore mine too! How do you get on using TeamSpeak?

    Dave.

    • I’ve not been able to get them to work satisfactorily with TeamSpeak.

      What about yourself?

      • Andrew Ballas

        Have you had any more luck getting these to work with TeamSpeak or Discord?
        I’m tossing up between buying an Aftershokz or just go with a regular wireless Bluetooth earphones(Jaybird X or Bose SoundSport Wireless) to use with TeamSpeak/Discord or listening to music while Zwifting

        • Andrew Ballas

          Well I bit the bullet and ordered a Trekz Titanium, I’ve since used it a few times with Discord and from all reports it works flawlessly, I’m very happy with it.

          • That is very interesting to know – I’ll have to look at upgrading these then! I think the poor quality voice on TeamSpeak on Zwift is one of the main reasons these have been related to by backup headphones, and using the (cabled and thus infuriating) Apple bundled headphones

  • How do you find them working with your glasses on? Is that an issue at all, or are they difficult to marry with glasses and still get audio?

    • Not had an issue at all. If I’m honest I actually had to think of I’ve had any issues! However I had have relatively slim glasses arm and the head phones go over the top.

      I’ve had more problems with other headphones not staying in my ears than these with glasses.